Searches

Gluten-free beer


Gluten-free beer: beer and celiac disease, a combination that is not always inconvenient. Here are the "allowed" beers in gluten-free diets.

Theregluten-free beerit is produced from malt free of glycoproteins (gluten) and has spread as an alcoholic drink suitable for gluten intolerant and for those suffering from disorders such as celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis.

Why can't celiacs drink beer?

Classic beer is brewed from barley or wheat malt. The hordein present in barley as well as the gliadin present in wheat and other cereals, are proteins commonly labeled as"gluten"and can trigger adverse reactions in patients with intolerances or allergies to this "substance".

There are many breweries that offer alternativesgluten freeto the classic beer even if the indication "Gluten free”Meets different standards based on geographic location.

In the European Union, for example, thegluten-free beercannot go beyond 20 ppm of gluten, while in Australia, the "gluten free"Is assigned only in the complete absence of the offending proteins. As well as for thegluten-free beer, in fact, also all the other products marketed with the words "gluten free"In a country, with a different legislation, they could renounce the indicationgluten free for non-compliance with standards.

Gluten-free beer or beer with a reduced amount of gluten

Some breweries offer beer produced from barley or rye malt with reduced levels of gluten. These beers are marketed in Europe asgluten freebecause they meet the standard of gluten levels below 20 ppm. Breweries claim that the offending glycoproteins are "pre-digested" and transformed into harmless amino acids. Those who aim for agluten-free diet (and without compromise) should completely avoid this type of beer: even if the tests conducted do not highlight relevant levels of gluten, the proteins can find themselves in a peptide form and still trigger an adverse reaction in celiacs. It all depends on the individual sensitivity.

Betweengluten-free beers(which should actually be marketed as "low in gluten") we point out theAgainst the Grainwhich with repeated safety tests showed gluten levels always within 5 ppm, Koff with 18 - 20 ppm, Laitilan, with only 4 ppm glutenand the Spanish Daura with quantities of less than 20 ppm.

Is Corona beer gluten-free?

For legislation, Corona Beer could also be consideredgluten free. Paradoxically, the tests carried out by the South American organizationArgentine Coeliac Association (ACELA)and by the Swedish National Food Agency, Corona beer contains less than 20 ppm of gluten and for this reason it could be legally consideredgluten free. Probably this very low amount of gluten is dictated by the fact that Corona, for its lager beers, uses rice and / or corn together with barley malt. The leaders of theCrownhave not commented on these tests in any way.

Gluten-free beers

The real onesgluten-free beersthey are those produced from buckwheat, corn, sorghum and rice. It is in these cases you can be sure not to trigger any adverse response. Betweengluten-free beerswe point out:

  • Celia Saison
    Belgian-inspired, with hops made from sorghum.
  • Green Gluten Free
    Made in Belgium from buckwheat malt, rice, millet and sorghum.
  • Sprecher Brewing Co.
    Starting with sorghum and millet.

Others gluten-free beers: Omission Beer, Steadfast Pale Ale, CELIA Lager, Bard's Beer, Redbridge, Belkica Brewing, New Planet beer, La messagere, Brasserie Brunehaut Bio, BrewDog's Vagabond Pale Ale ...

Gluten-free diet

TheI walkofgluten-free dietit is hard and impervious. There are many foods that are naturally gluten-free but which once industrialized are contaminated with wheat and no longer suitable for celiac nutrition. This article dedicated tobeer withoutglutenis not the first we address to the world of "gluten free "; we recommend other pages dedicated togluten-free diethe may interest you:

  • Gluten-free sourdough, the recipe to prepare natural yeast or gluten-free sourdough. Excellent to replace gluten-free brewer's yeast.
  • Gluten-free flours, the list of gluten-free flours perfect for preparing rustic doughs or for making desserts.
  • Vegan gluten-free crepes, the recipe for gluten-free crepes, eggs, milk or other animal derivatives.


Video: How to Brew Gluten-Free Beer (November 2021).